2023 Grammy Awards

The 65th Annual Grammy Awards took place on Sunday, Feb. 5 in Los Angeles. This year’s Grammy consisted of many historical wins for artists. 

An enormous win was for Viola Davis who won a Grammy Award for Best Audio Book, Narration, and Storytelling Recording. Her Grammy win officially named her an EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony Awards) and is the third Black woman to become an EGOT. 

Beyoncé won her 32nd Grammy, making her the artist with the most Grammy Awards won. She won for “Break My Soul” under Dance Recording category and Renaissance under the Dance/Electronic Album category. 

For their song, “Unholy,” Sam Smith and Kim Petras won Pop Duo/Group Performance. Kim Petras is the first openly transgender woman to win under the category. 

“And I just want to thank all the incredible transgender legends before me who kicked these doors open for me so I could be here tonight,” said Kim Petras.  

Other notable historic moments were the seven new awards given out at the Grammys. These awards included Songwriter of the Year, Non-Classical; Best Score Soundtrack For Video Games and Other Interactive Media; Best Alternative Music Performance; Best Americana Performance; and Best Spoken Word Poetry Album. 

Taylor Swift’s music video, “All Too Well: The Short Film” marked the first time an artist won for a music video they directed themselves. 

For other wins at the Grammys, Encanto won three awards for their soundtrack. Germaine Franco became the first woman of color to win Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media. 

The most anticipated Album of the Year award was won by Harry Styles, with his album, Harry’s House. Harry Styles beat other nominees including Adele, Drake, Beyoncé, Lizzo, and Kendrick Lamar. 

“I think on nights like tonight it’s important for us to remember there is no such thing as ‘best’ in music. I don’t think any of us sit in the studio making decisions on what is going to get us one of these,” stated Harry Styles. 

Amidst Harry Styles’ acceptance speech, someone yelled, “It should have been Beyoncé.”

Styles’ final words in his speech also caused controversy online. He stated how “this doesn’t happen to people like me very often” leaving many to wonder what Styles meant by it. 

For Best Song, Bonnie Raitt won for “Just Like That.” She beat nominees like Steve Lacy, Taylor Swift, Harry Styles, Adele, and Jay-Z.

The New Artist title was given to Samara Joy and the Record Grammy was given to Lizzo for her song, “About Damn Time.” 

Artists like Harry Styles, Bad Bunny, Mary J. Blige, Lizzo, Steve Lacy, Kim Petras, Sam Smith, Stevie Wonder, and DJ Khaled also performed at the Grammys. 

Other Grammy winners include:

  • Rap Album: Mr. Morale & the Big Steppers by Kendrick Lamar
  • Rock Album: Patient Number 9 by Ozzy Osbourne
  • Country Solo Performance: “Live Forever” by Willie Nelson
  • Metal Performance: “Degradation Rules” by Ozzy Osbourne
  • Music Film: Jazz Fest: A New Orleans Story
  • Musical Theater Album: Into the Woods
  • R&B Song: “CUFF IT” by Beyoncé
  • Rap Song: “The Heart Part 5” by Kendrick Lamar
  • Pop Solo Performance: “Easy On Me” by Adele